NORTHAMPTON BOROUGH COUNCIL



COUNCIL

Thursday, 19 May 2016

YOU ARE SUMMONED TO ATTEND A MEETING OF NORTHAMPTON BOROUGH COUNCIL, WHICH WILL BE HELD AT THE GUILDHALL NORTHAMPTON ON THURSDAY, 19 MAY 2016 AT 11:00 AM WHEN THE FOLLOWING BUSINESS IS PROPOSED TO BE TRANSACTED

1. ELECTION OF THE MAYOR

Councillor M Hill to propose and Councillor King to second: "That Councillor Christopher Malpas be elected Mayor of the Borough of Northampton Borough Council for the ensuing year."

After election, the Mayor will make the declaration of acceptance of office.

The Mayor's Serjeant will invest in the Mayor's Mayoress (Lynne Malpas) with her chain of office.

The Mayor will thank the Council for his election.

2. VOTE OF THANKS TO THE OUTGOING MAYOR AND MAYOR'S CONSORT

Councillor Larratt to propose and Councillor Markham to second:

"That the thanks of the Council be given to Councillor Penny Flavell and Mr Michael Flavell for the able and courteous manner in which they have discharged their duties as Mayor and Mayor's Consort during their time in office."

3. ELECTION OF DEPUTY MAYOR

Councillor Russell to propose and Councillor Larratt to second: "That Councillor Gareth

Eales be appointed to the office of Deputy Mayor."

After appointment the Deputy Mayor will make his declaration of acceptance of office.

The Mace Bearer will invest the Deputy Mayoress (Councillor Terrie Eales) with her badge of office.

4. APOLOGIES

5. LONG SERVICE

25 years' service:

Nuala Duffy, Carol Tucker, Bhavna Karia, Christine Stray, Graham O'Reilly, Peter Gancarcik, Margaret Port, Ruksana Hefesji –Wade and Kerry Ryan.

6. LEADER AND DEPUTY LEADER OF THE CONSERVATIVE GROUP

Councillor Lane to announce:

"That Councillor Markham be appointed Leader of the Conservative Group and Councillor Nunn be appointed Deputy Leader of the Conservative Group".

7. LEADER AND DEPUTY LEADER OF THE OPPOSITION GROUP

Councillor Russell to announce:

"That Councillor Stone be appointed Leader of the Labour Group and Councillor Birch be appointed Deputy Leader of the Labour Group".

8. LEADER AND DEPUTY LEADER OF THE LIBERAL DEMOCRAT GROUP

Councillor Meredith to announce:

"That Councillor Beardsworth be appointed the Leader of the Liberal Democrat Group and he as Deputy Leader of the Liberal Democrat Group".

9. DEPUTY LEADER OF THE COUNCIL AND CABINET

The Leader of the Council to announce the following appointments:

Councillor Nunn	Deputy Leader of the Council
Councillor Bottwood	Cabinet Member for Environment
Councillor Hibbert	Cabinet Member for Housing
Councillor King	Cabinet Member for Community Engagement
Councillor Hadland	Cabinet Member for Regeneration, Enterprise and Planning
Councillor Hallam	Cabinet Member for Community Safety
Councillor Eldred	Cabinet Member for Finance

10. COMMITTEE PROPORTIONALITY

(Copy herewith)

11. COUNCIL MEETINGS

The Mayor to propose: "That the Annual Meeting of the Council takes place on 18th May 2017 and that other meetings of the Council takes place on 6th June, 18th July, 19th September, 7th November, 12th December 2016, 23rd January, 27th February, 13th March, 24th April, 5th June and 10th July 2017."

12. APPOINTMENTS TO COMMITTEES

(Copy herewith)

13. APPOINTMENTS TO CHARITIES AND OUTSIDE BODIES

(Copy herewith)

14. CONSULTATION APPOINTMENTS

Civic Matters (Chief Executive)

The Mayor, the Deputy Mayor, The Immediate Past Mayor, the Leader, Councillors M Hill and McCutcheon.

Community Enabling Fund Advisory Panel (Chief Executive): Councillors Flavell (Chair) and Councillors Walker, Sargeant, Birch and Cali

Constitution Review Working Party (Borough Solicitor)

Councillors Oldham, Larratt, Culbard, Russell and Beardsworth

Markets Advisory Panel Councillor Nunn, Hadland and G Eales

Northamptonshire Police and Crime Panel

Councillor Hallam (Cllr King – Substitute) Councillor Stone (Cllr Birch - Substitute)

Discretionary Housing Payments Review Panel (Chief Executive)

Councillor Eldred and Hibbert Councillor Ashraf and Davenport Councillor Beardsworth

The Guildhall Northampton

D. Kennedy Chief Executive

- Tel 01604 837722
- Mail Democratic Services Northampton Borough Council The Guildhall St Giles Square Northampton NN1 1DE